Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How Fast Do Plumerias Grow? Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   dennisrodz 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 23 July 2010 - 06:56 AM

I'm new to Plumerias (and gardening in general) and I'm amazed how fast they are growing. I bought a rooted cutting in April with 2-growing tips. First thing I did was to transplant it to a bigger pot. Well, in the almost 4 months I've been taking care of the plant, it has grown 11-inches at each tip. It now has more green (new growth) than brown.

Is it normal for Plumerias to grow this fast? Or am I an excellent beginner gardener? :rolleyes:

I also planted some seeds by April and most of the plants are 12" to 14" high. At this rate, I'll need a new backyard soon...

Just wondering if this is normal.

Thanks,

Dennis

#2 User is offline   wah9b 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip

Posted 23 July 2010 - 07:07 AM

A lot depends on the variety. Which plumeria did you buy?

I planted a Miami Rose cutting in the ground in Spring of 2006 (a little over 4 years ago). It is now at least 12 feet high and my 4-year old son climbs in its branches. That thing is a skyrocket.

Meanwhile I have a Dwarf Singapore Pink that is almost as old and is about 2 feet tall and plenty happy in its 12" pot.

#3 User is offline   Dutchlady 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip

Posted 23 July 2010 - 07:29 AM

Very good point - some varieties are robust growers and some are very compact.
Do keep in mind that these are TREES and eventually they will all be big, unless you keep them pruned.
In my experience, seedlings will grow faster if you give them more space to grow. My seedlings that are of blooming size are all around 5 ft or over.
Posted Image

#4 User is offline   nancycorinne 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip